Cicadas sing their laments of summer heat as he shuts the door to the Jeep and jogs to open her door. Taking her blindfolded face in his hands, he bends and presses his lips to hers. They match perfectly. Full of memories of first kisses clumsily stolen on porch steps and later, kisses full of emotions they had no words to express.

She smiles beneath his soft kiss. Amused that he had gone to so much trouble to blindfold her for the surprise. Running his hands through her hair, he gently removes the makeshift blindfold made from her teal bandana left in the glove box. Blinking her eyes a few times to remove the haze, she slowly begins to take in the “surprise” he had brought her to.

A happy smile breaks across his face at her quiet gasp as she takes in the scene he had painstakingly created. Directly in front of them was a white sheet stretched between two trees with his hammock hanging between two more trees a few feet away. The table in between the two held a tiny projector. “Well, what do you think?”

Shaking her head in awe she whispers “It’s beautiful.”

“Wait! It’s not finished.” With boyish excitement, he races over to a tree and bends down to a tiny box taped to the side of the tree. Suddenly, the trees are filled with white glowing lights.

Her mouth forms a silent “o” as she takes in the beauty of the scene he has created. Her boyfriend. This was all done for her.

“This is absolutely amazing! I can’t believe you did this for me.”

“Well I did say that one day I would use this little projector for  a movie night didn’t I?”

Shaking her head, she walks over to where he’s standing and throws her arms around his neck. “I love you” she whispers. He smiles and hugs her tighter. “I love you too” he offers back. “I really really love you.” He says as he takes a step back from her. “I don’t ever want to be with out you.”

“I know.” She says with a smile, “I don’t ever want to be without you either.”

Reaching into his pocket, he pulls out a simple black box, “No baby, I mean I don’t ever want to lose you or be without you. I want to spend my life with you.” With one hand on her waist, he drops to one knee and opens the little ring box. Inside is a simple diamond engagement ring.

“Oh my god, it”s beautiful.” Silent tears run down her face as she presses her free hand to her mouth and just starts nodding her head. “Yes love! Yes!” She nods her head faster and smiles.

With a gentle laugh he tells her, “I didn’t technically ask yet you know.”

Laughing loudly now, he stands and slides the ring on her finger. Their laughter fills the mountains as they embrace and spin around the little clearing.

 

*Hey, a girl can dream right?*

 

