I feel like one of the biggest arguments against God is that He doesn’t answer prayers. And I’m just as much at fault. It’s so incredibly easy to get wrapped up in yourself. In what I think I need. What I want. What I find important. But this isn’t meant to me a me faith. We have to have faith in a plan bigger than our own.

I heard a story today from a very good friend(it’s not important who) that almost brought me to tears. He was at a restaurant and overheard his waitress telling a coworker that the only thing motivating her to work was the ten dollars she needed to turn on her electricity. So my friend gave her a ten dollar tip. Can you imagine what it would feel like to be motivated by your lack of electricity? Can you imagine that she really did need ten dollars and that out of no where it’s just there? What would that feel like? The relief, the thankfulness, the hope. All because one person acted on what he heard, on what he knew was right.

God is always renewing my faith with circumstances like that one. A quiet plea that was answered, maybe with no faith that it would be. That’s Christmas. Hope when there is none. Good people when you’re altogether fed up with the world. That’s our God.

Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am – Phillippians 4:13 (borrowed from left to write)

