I have a love of beautiful words. Phrases that are filled with gorgeous imagery, poetry that gives me chills, sweet words from the one I love. I’m a sucker for it all. It makes me smile and raises goosebumps on my arms. I want to write that. To have people remember my words, or even just linger on them for an extra second. Thinking and processing them. But for now, I am content with reading other’s. Like EE Cummings’ “I Carry Your Heart” : here is the deepest secret nobody knows/ (here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud/ and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows/ higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)/ and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart… I believe this was in a movie, I think with Cameron Diaz. Either way, I think it is beautiful. That verse I put up there is my favorite. Another favorite poem of mine is one of Ezra Pound’s, “In a Station of the Metro”: the apparation of these faces in the crowd; /petals on a wet, black bough. I absolutely love this poem. The imagery is fantastic and it’s such an amazing way to describe people on a subway.

In case you haven’t already figured it out, I am collecting all my favorite word combinations and posting them here. I am doing this because I am bored, and writing is what I do. What I love. So, here are a few other passages and verses I love. Although I know this isn’t all of them…

From Ron Pope’s song “Fireflies” : With her shoes in her hands, I am watching her dance,/
As the hem of her dress gently kisses the grass…Like autumn turns leaves, winter will breathe, cold on our necks, snow in our paths./ Wherever she goes, all that I know about us is that beautiful things never last,/ That’s why fireflies flash.

From Deb Caletti’s novel “Wild Roses” : “Maybe love, too, is beautiful because it has a wildness that cannot be tamed…All I know is that passion can take you up like a house of cards in a tornado, leaving destruction in its wake. Or it can let you alone because you have built a stone wall against it, set out the armed guards to keep it from touching you. The real trick is to let it in, but hold on. To understand that the heart is as vast and wide as the universe, but that we come to know it best from here, this place of gravity and stability, where our feet can still touch the ground.”

Well there you have it. Lovely words that make me swoon. Maybe not those particularly, but I couldn’t find those other ones. I guess I wrote tonight partly from boredom and partly to remind myself why I write. Why I read. Why I have this blog. Perhaps one day I will collect all my true favorites and put them here. If you’re lucky. But for now, I am content with these. Content with the way beautifully put together words can make me feel. How they can make me cry, or laugh. Smile or swoon. One day I’ll create my own passage of words that will be remembered. Or at least reread once or twice. But until then, I’m happy being the one doing the rereading.


